Irish Heritage Trust Welcomes Four New Directors to Join the Board

Following the unveiling of our ten-year strategic plan in 2023, today we announce the appointment of four directors to join our board: Ger Aherne, Niamh Ann Kelly, Tony Larkin and Eoghan Lehane.


Established in 2006, we are now a leading national organisation with four landmark heritage properties currently in our care: 11 Parnell Square, Dublin, where the Trust is headquartered; Fota House, Arboretum & Gardens, Cork; Johnstown Castle Estate, Museum & Gardens, Wexford; and Strokestown Park & The National Famine Museum, Roscommon. During 2023 the ESB announced that it had selected the Irish Heritage Trust as the partner of choice to develop No. 12 Lr. Fitzwilliam Street as a museum, connecting the history of Georgian Dublin and Fitzwilliam Street Lower and the development of science and technology in the home over 200 years.

Irish Heritage Trust Chairperson, Clare McGrath welcomed these new directors:

“The Irish Heritage Trust is immensely fortunate to be enriched by the profound knowledge and expertise of our dedicated board members, who generously contribute their time on a voluntary basis. We are delighted to refresh our board by welcoming a host of new talent and experience to the Trust as we expand our heritage portfolio, working collaboratively with public and private partners. We are also committed to becoming an exemplar in sustainable development practices while preserving and sharing Ireland’s exceptional built, natural, and cultural heritage, ensuring its viability for future generations. I would also like to thank our former directors, Madeleine Taylor-Quinn, John Crowe and the late Patrick Curley for their valuable contributions and insights in recent years”.

Brigadier General Ger Aherne

Retired Defence Forces Brigadier General Ger Aherne has held strategic military appointments in Ireland, commanded national and international forces for the UN, EU and NATO on three continents, and was seconded by Ireland to the OSCE in Croatia. He served two terms as an elected member of the University of Galway’s Governing Authority and sat for many years on its Alumni Board. He is also a former board member of the business NGO Traidlinks and a member of both the Institute for International and European Affairs (IIEA) and the Institute of Directors (IOD). More here.

Niamh Ann Kelly

Head of Art and Visual Culture at TU Dublin School of Art and Design, Niamh Ann has worked in third-level education and research for over two decades. Her focus is on interdisciplinary work and building sustainable links between research, learning and industry. More here.

Tony Larkin

Former Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Services with Wexford County Council Tony Larkin is welcomed to the board.  Tony has more than 42 years of experience in Local Government in Ireland and served for over 22 years in the Management Team of Wexford County Council.  More here.

Eoghan Lehane

Chartered Engineer Eoghan Lehane has extensive experience of working in both the private and public sectors. He spent over twenty years with one of Ireland’s leading Consulting Engineering firms engaged in the design and construction of civil engineering infrastructural projects throughout Ireland. Eoghan joined the Commissioners of Irish Lights in 1999 as Operations & Property Manager and retired as Acting Director of Coastal Operations in 2022. More here.

Minister Noonan T.D., Minister of State for Nature, Heritage and Electoral Reform at the Department of Housing, Local Government & Heritage, congratulated the board on the appointment of the new directors:

“Whether they are tour guides or board directors, the more than 300 volunteers who work with the Irish Heritage Trust make an invaluable contribution to its work. I have seen first-hand what a tremendous impact the Trust has, through its conservation and community engagement programmes, and I am sure the newly appointed directors will help sustain this great progress.  I wish them all the best in their new positions.”

Explore Our Latest News

Join Our Community